E.LeeteThoughts

Just another WordPress.com weblog

worry worm. April 22, 2008

Filed under: heart talk — erinleete @ 8:13 pm

Some people don’t worry. Some people do. I fall into the worrier category and I am trying desperately to crawl my way out of that dark hole. The Bible commands that we should not be anxious about anything. “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

It is supposed to be that easy. Somehow, by praying, our anxiety is washed away. In prayer, we realize that we are utterly dependent on the Sovereign Ruler of all, and that our worrying isn’t going to do any good. Yet, praying to the “Sovereign Ruler” doesn’t always give me the stillness I am looking for.

The verse that precedes Philippians 4:6-7 says, “The Lord is near.” The Lord is near to me when I am anxious. He isn’t just sitting high on His throne ruling over the huge cosmic happenings. He is near to me. Little me. Comforting me. His nearness quiets my fears and calms my restless heart. So when I am anxious, I need to remember verse 5 too, because it is there that I find a reason not to worry.

 

2 Responses to “worry worm.”

  1. theB Says:

    What always helps me too, is remembering that He has not let me fall yet. So why would he start?

  2. Regan Says:

    that was the scripture i read right before i walked out the door this morning. maybe i should read that every morning!


Leave a Reply

